Splendid and charming, Villa Gromo of Ternengo is located in the historic center of Robecco s/n and
is immersed in the green park of 16 hectares fenced on three sides with the ancient walls of Roman
origin, while the waters of the Naviglio Grande are the natural barriers on the east side. Its history
begins in the Roman era, precisely in the imperial age, and it is still possible today to detect the
territorial partition in hundreds.
Starting from 600 A.D. the ancient village became the feud of the noblemen Pietrasanta, who fortified it with two towers of defense no longer visible.
In 1340 Giovannolo Casati, uncle to Filippo Maria Visconti, transformed the fortified village in a villa, that became the core of a vast rural property bathed by the Naviglio.
The appearance of the house and its structure as they look like today are the result of the restoration work that took place in 1679 when the regent of Milan, Danish Casati and his nephew, Count Ferdinando Casati, decided to give the House its present appearance. The house took the name “Gromo di Ternengo” in 1884, when Antonietta Negrotto Cambiaso, descendent of the Casati, married Emanuele Gromo Richelmy Count of Ternengo, and maintains this name still today. It is currently owned by the family Wild.
Typical example of Lombard late baroque the house, with "U" shaped plan facing the park, is articulated around a single perspective axis, long more than 800 meters, that from the exedra of the entrance continues with the extended courtyard turned into a garden, through the villa and the wide park behind, which stretches up to occupy the space between the Naviglio Grande and the road to Abbiategrasso.
The interior layout, gradually modified , has the part of representation on the ground floor and on the first floor the bedrooms and the library, served by an austere staircase. The large park which already existed in the eighteenth century has a part similar to a “parterre” and adorned with two statues, the rest of the garden is in the English style. It is interesting for the presence of an area, , the lemon house, used as a winter garden surrounded by large windows and adorned with floral paintings.
On the side of the garden facing the Naviglio, precisely on the boundary wall with Villa Gaia, there is "La Sirenella". This small pavilion owes its name to a statue depicting a siren that welcomed visitors who arrived to the villa and that is still visible today.
Built along the western shore of the Naviglio Grande in the second half of the eighteenth century, at the end of a beautiful avenue of red oaks that connects it to the house, the slender pavilion is supported by four pillars, with a room on the first floor decorated with a small balcony with a balustrade in wrought iron, crowned by a high frame on shelves. In close proximity with the "sirenella" there was probably also the jetty, about which today there is no trace since it was in wood and was placed inside the canal water.
The tank on two columns instead next to the pavilion is part of an ingenious system of irrigation; here there was in fact a mill wheel that collected the water.
Saint Francesco Church
Located on the right side of the Gromo di Ternengo House but accessible from the homonym alley, the church, already founded in the XIV century at the ancient fortification of Robecco, became from the middle of the sixteenth century the Casati’s private chapel. The sober square facade, , punctuated by the flat frames and bands in relief, is illuminated by three big windows that open onto the central portal.
Web page was built with Mobirise